The Five Marks of Mission

The Mission of the Church Is the Mission of Christ
~ To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom
~ To teach, baptize and nurture new believers 
~ To respond to human need by loving service 
~ To seek to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation
~ To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth
We recognize with gratitude that the Five Marks of Mission, developed by the Anglican Consultative Council between 1984 and 1990, have won wide acceptance among Anglicans, and have given parishes and dioceses around the world a practical and memorable "checklist" for mission activities.

The Episcopal Church is a member of the wider Anglican Communion and as such is a part of a world wide expression of Christian Faith and Practice.


Five Baptismal Marks of Mission

The Five Baptismal Marks of Mission were created by the Rt. Rev. Ian T. Douglas in October 2012 and shared in his Address to the Annual Convention of the Episcopal Church in Connecticut. They combined the Anglican "marks" with the promises of the Baptismal Covenant.

Worship & Prayer

  • Teaching, baptizing and nurturing new believers

Repentance & Forgiveness

  • Resisting evil and safeguarding the integrity of creation


  • Proclaiming the Good News of God in Christ


  • Responding to human need by loving service

Justice & Peace

  • Seeking to transform unjust structures of society and challenging violence